Six from Lake County get Lilly scholarships • Northwest Indiana Business Magazine

Six from Lake County get Lilly scholarships

Buy Us A Coffee

MERRILLVILLE – Six Lake County students have received four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Legacy Foundation 2012 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Each will receive full tuition to the Indiana college or university of their choice and a $900 yearly stipend for books and equipment.

The scholars are Jackeline Fernandez of East Chicago Central High School; Cassandra Firchau of Crown Point High School; Sarah Guistolisi of Griffith High School; Taylor Hillegonds of Hanover Central High School; Tanisha Howard of West Side Leadership Academy in Gary; and Desiree Swartz of River Forest High School in Hobart.

“As Lake County’s leading philanthropic resource, one of Legacy Foundation’s most important roles is to support educational opportunity,” said Harry J. Vande Velde III, president and CEO. “We are proud to recognize the many accomplishments of these young people as they begin their promising college careers, and to partner with Lilly Endowment in advancing them toward their futures.”




Scroll to Top