EDCMC Announces New Board Members • Northwest Indiana Business Magazine

EDCMC Announces New Board Members

Buy Us A Coffee

MICHIGAN CITY – The Economic Development Corporation Michigan City, Indiana (EDCMC) recently elected its 2017 officers at a regular Board of Directors meeting in December.

Rick Dekker, CEO of Dekker Vacuum Technologies, Inc., was elected as Chair of the EDCMC Board. Bill Hackney, Publisher of The News Dispatch was elected as Vice Chair for the board. In addition, Tom Edwards, Horizon Bank President and Chief Credit Officer (COO) was reelected Treasurer. All officers were elected into their roles unanimously by the EDCMC Board.

Outgoing Chairman, Don Babcock, NIPSCO’s Director of Economic Development, said, “It has been an honor to serve as Chairman of the EDCMC Board of Directors over the last year. The EDCMC and others have helped create a lot of momentum to move this community forward. Having an organization like the EDCMC leading the charge for economic development in Michigan City will continue to show businesses and developers that Michigan City, Indiana is ready and open for business.” Don will continue to serve on the board through 2018.

Incoming Chairman, Rick Dekker said, “The EDCMC has done a lot of work in 2016 to position itself for strong rewards in the coming year and beyond. The strong team at the EDCMC organization works diligently to foster relationships that are needed to see growth and development for our community. I am looking forward to working alongside them in 2017 to show employers, developers, and investors that Michigan City, Indiana is the premier location for doing business.”

Newly elected members to the EDCMC Board of Directors, serving three year terms, are Mary Jo Orlowski, President of the Michigan City Area Chamber of Commerce; Linda Simmons, Director of Marketing for the LaPorte County Conventions and Visitors Bureau; and Dean Mazzoni, President and CEO of Franciscan Health-Michigan City.

Other Board members include: Michigan City Mayor, Ron Meer; Tim Bietry, Michigan City Council President; Chuck Compton, Chicago South Shore & South Bend Freight Railroad Chief Administrative Officer; Dr. Barbara Eason-Watkins, Superintendent of the Michigan City Area Schools; Leif Erickson, Blue Chip Casino, Hotel & Spa Vice President & General Manager; Bill Kaminski, Newby Lewis Kaminski Jones LLP; and Joie Winski, La Porte County Auditor.


Scroll to Top