Governor appoints Region mayors to NICTD board • Northwest Indiana Business Magazine
Gov. Holcomb

Governor appoints Region mayors to NICTD board

Buy Us A Coffee

Gov. Eric Holcomb appointed two Region mayors to the Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District board Friday.

Eddie Melton
Gary Mayor Eddie Melton
Valparaiso Mayor Jon Costas
Valparaiso Mayor Jon Costas

Jon Costas, mayor of Valparaiso, will serve until May 31, 2026, and Eddie Melton, mayor of Gary, until May 31, 2028.

Other Region leaders were appointed to the following positions:

Governor’s Commission on Supplier Diversity:

  • Frances Vega-Steele, of Portage, associate vice chancellor of student affairs for Ivy Tech Community College Northwest, was reappointed until Nov. 30, 2027.
  • Carol Slager, of Schererville, founder of Inkwell Healthy Lifestyles, was appointed until Nov. 30, 2027.

Governor’s Council for People with Disabilities:

  • Jessica Witherspoon, of Valparaiso, WIOA partner navigator with the state of Indiana, was appointed until Dec. 31, 2026.

Vocational Rehabilitation Services Commission:

  • Jennifer Diaz, of South Bend, representing INSOURCE, was reappointed until Dec. 31, 2026.
  • Marc Ruiz, of Hebron, representing the business community, was appointed until Dec. 31, 2026.


Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top